top of page

South Beach State Park

This weekend I went on my first camping trip! I can say it was a success!! This was my first beach experience and I LOVED it! I got to ride in the motorhome and even sleep with my mom (I usually sleep in a kennel so this was quite a treat). The campground had a nice little park right in the middle for the children. I found out that I love to go on the play structure and run down the slide! :-) The fun stopped when mom finally realized that there were signs around the park that said "no dogs allowed"so we decided to take our fun somewhere else. Mom and I took a nice walk down to the beach, a few miles from our camp. This beach was very clean and beautiful! I even got to see some doggy friends!

The first thing I did when we got to the beach was check out the water.. I've never seen the ocean before. It was great! I kept my head down and stuck out my tongue so it would drag along the water. My mom told me that I shouldn't do that because the salt water is "yucky" but I don't care what she says I loved it! It was a little scary when the waves came for you, they were really fast, but we soon made a game out of the waves. We would chase them into the ocean and they would case us back onto land!

It was extra special because mom brought my extra long leash that is like a thousand miles long!! (not really it's actually my 20ft "Good2Go" leash). Mom kept me on my leash the whole time but I still had a blast! She said we didn't want any mishaps and I do tend to get distracted when other dogs are around.. oops.. Then we went to and played in the hills of sand. I kept sticking my nose in the holes hoping i'd catch myself a little critter (I got no luck).

Overall, this first camping trip at the coast was so much fun! We had sunny skies, good company, and most importantly a pawesome new experience. If your in Newport, Oregon and looking for a family friendly coast getaway the South Beach Campground had some pawesome living spaces if you don't have a trailer or motorhome, they offer yurts! I can't wait to go on my next camping trip! I wonder where mom will take me next...

bottom of page